How NUJ national election was won and lost, as Isiguzo returns, ex-Ondo Chair Atunbi is Nat Treasurer

By: Ade Adeleke

Despite the withdrawal of his major opponent, journalists who were delegates on thursday still affirmed the re-election of Comrade Chris Isiguzo, the incumbent National President of Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ); SUNSHINETRUTH can report.

He was re-elected at the 7th triennial delegates conference held in Umuahia, the Abia state capital on thursday after he got 665 votes from 704voters accredited for the election while his opponent, Yusuf Idris polled 15votes while 22votes were declared invalid.

Iziguso’s overwhelming victory followed the withdrawal from the election by the only opposing candidate, Comrade Yusuf Idris.

Confirming the withdrawal, the Chairman, National Credentials Committee, Garba Muhammad stated that the committee received the withdrawal letter on the eve of the election, saying “Comrade Chris Iziguso is hereby returned unopposed due to the withdrawal of the only opposing candidate, Comrade Yusuf Idris yesterday (wednesday)”.

The election which was witnessed by three former President of NUJ, representatives of the Federal Ministry of Labour and Productivity and the Deputy National President of the Nigeria Labour Congress, NLC, Comrade Joe Ajaero among others.

Ajaero who monitored the process from the beginning till the end as an observer and Returning Officer in the election, commended NUJ delegates for the peaceful and credible conduct of the election.

Other national officers were elected including Yahya Al-hassan now the new Deputy National President, while a former Vice President of B-Zone and ex-Ondo NUJ Chairman, Barrister Dele Atunbi of NTA, Abuja was elected unopposed as the NUJ National Treasurer.

Dele Atunbi

Others are Samuel Dada of LTV, Lagos who emerged unopposed as the National Financial Secretary and Ladi Emmanuel is now the new National Internal Auditor while 6 Zonal Vice Presidents and Zonal Secretaries were also elected at the conference.

Ronke Samo with Ekiti NUJ Chairman & members after the poll.

Also, former Ekiti NUJ Secretary/Vice Chairman Ronke Samo of NOA Chapel from Ekiti State was returned as the First female Vice President of B-Zone Southwest while Abdulrasaq Alege is the new B-Zone Secretary.

He was born in Abia state and studied Mass Communication.

Isiguzo started his career as a journalist in 1999 as a reporter and has been a correspondent in many states with assigned responsibilities such as Sub-Editor, Editor, and Bureau chief in various platforms including Thisday Newspapers

Chris Isiguzo was first elected as NUJ president in 2018.

In an acceptance speech, the NUJ National President, said he would not take the renewal of his tenure for granted by doing more to reposition the union to be more responsive to members.

Isiguzo disclosed that the NUJ Constitution would soon be reviewed to meet the current reality.

It would be recalled on Wednesday, the NUJ President, Chris Isiguzo confirmed that an order from the National Industrial court in Ibadan on the election had been vacated.

“To the Glory of God, the Ex-parte Order obtained by some union members in Ogun State Council from the Ibadan Division of the National Industrial Court of Nigeria suspending the 7th Triennial Delegates Conference has been vacated by the court in Ibadan today (on Wednesday).

“With this, all encumbrances have been cleared. I therefore use this opportunity to welcome our teeming delegates from across the country to Umuahia, Abia State. In all, the Union is the winner as collective interest surpasses individual’s interest,” Isiguzo said